Newbie gym/raid battle question

I’m very new to gaming. Have searched the web and can’t find an answer. There is a gym right down the street from me. Have never done battle or participated in a raid battle. Sometimes there are Pokémons there, sometimes not. But when a raid battle is scheduled there is always an icon of an egg in the lower left corner. Tap on it and I’m taken to what looks like a stadium with the egg in it. Can someone please explain? The best I can figure is the Pokémon in the gym are guarding the egg??? Thanks in advance.

Once there is previsted a raid, appears this egg in the left corner. It gives for the time until the Raid starts something like protection to the gym. So during this time you cannot attack the Mons inside the Gym and change this way the color of the Gym.

The Eggs appear at Random. Once they appear a timer starts counting backwards to 0 from 60mins.
Once that timer reaches 0 the Egg will Hatch for a chance to battle a Raid Boss for 45mins (another timer starts counting down).
The colour of the Egg dictates the Level of difficulty the Raid Boss will be.
In your example the Dark Blue/Purple colour is for a T5 legendary. You will need to have a group of other players to help you battle this Raid Boss. High Level Players can battle and win with only 4 players. Much lower levels may need up to 12 fighting it together to win in the time your given. You can have as many as 20 battling it together.
If you win the Raid you get a chance to catch it and keep it for your collection and/or use it to do further battle with. The contribution you make to the Raid will determine how many Premium (white) Balls you get to try and catch it with.

Any Pokemon that were in the Gym have nothing to do with that Raid Boss Battle that is going to take place.
The only relevance is the colour of the Gym. If its the same as yours you can get an extra ball for your tally to help catch the Raid Boss.